[bug] can not spawn on r6947

Issues that were previously reported and since dealt with.
Forum rules
This issue tracker is now in read-only mode. Please see this topic for more information on how to contribute to Red Eclipse.

[bug] can not spawn on r6947

Postby freezurbern » 21 Nov 2014 04:37

So with the recent changes to the loadout code, I think it has created a situation where one can not respawn. When I set up my loadout through the menus it sticks now on r6947 so yay for that! But, when i connect to a server, the server will allow me to join a team and my client shows "Ready to respawn" but whatever I try, I can't make it spawn my player. I'm not sure how to debug this, and would love some help with helping figure this out. Does this happen for anyone else? I don't think I'm using any stale settings as I cleared out the old stuff related to loadouts. Both server and client are r6947.
freezurbern
 
Posts: 641
Joined: 02 Feb 2014 18:01

Re: [bug] can not spawn on r6947

Postby qreeves » 21 Nov 2014 05:33

Works for me. Only reason you shouldn't be respawning is if your loadout is invalid. Try building from clean?
Quinton Reeves | Lead Developer, Red Eclipse
Check Out My YouTube Channel | Leave Me a Tip on PayPal
Contribute to Project Costs via PayPal or Patreon
User avatar
qreeves
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1619
Joined: 02 Feb 2014 05:04
Location: Australia

Re: [bug] can not spawn on r6947

Postby Unnamed » 21 Nov 2014 08:59

I can not spawn with some valid loadouts. I think it happens when I selected more than 5 weapons not to be random.
Unnamed
 
Posts: 150
Joined: 02 Feb 2014 08:58

Re: [bug] can not spawn on r6947

Postby shirepirate » 22 Nov 2014 03:03

console also shoots out
unknown command: autoloadweap
unknown command: favloadweaps
on startup
For every action, there is an equal and opposite reaction. For every freedom, there is a new limit. For every joy, a new sorrow. For every act of kindness, an unspeakable cruelty. Where someone succeeds, someone else fails. A new association means a new separation. Loyalty meets treachery, honor breeds disgrace, free expression yields censorship. Each piece of knowledge forms new ignorance. Even death gives rise to new life. But the balance of existence is the beginning of wisdom and discernment.
User avatar
shirepirate
 
Posts: 704
Joined: 27 Mar 2014 07:20

Re: [bug] can not spawn on r6947

Postby qreeves » 22 Nov 2014 04:03

shirepirate wrote:console also shoots out
unknown command: autoloadweap
unknown command: favloadweaps
on startup

Stale config.cfg or autoexec.cfg
Quinton Reeves | Lead Developer, Red Eclipse
Check Out My YouTube Channel | Leave Me a Tip on PayPal
Contribute to Project Costs via PayPal or Patreon
User avatar
qreeves
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1619
Joined: 02 Feb 2014 05:04
Location: Australia

Re: [bug] can not spawn on r6947

Postby unixfreak » 22 Nov 2014 06:03

Can confirm here too.
I don't get errors like shirepirate mentioned. But i did move/rename my config.cfg and autoexec.cfg and still cannot spawn with r6948.

On 64bit linux if that means anything.

PS; `make clean && make install` results in no change.
User avatar
unixfreak
 
Posts: 224
Joined: 02 Feb 2014 18:47
Location: Bristol, UK

Re: [bug] can not spawn on r6947

Postby qreeves » 22 Nov 2014 07:51

I have determined a situation where if you try to spawn during loading, the loadout menu that gets presented gets cleared on map start. I have decided to make this case simply allow the player to spawn, they will be presented with the dialog next spawn. It's a suboptimal answer though, I need to think about how to go about handling it.
Quinton Reeves | Lead Developer, Red Eclipse
Check Out My YouTube Channel | Leave Me a Tip on PayPal
Contribute to Project Costs via PayPal or Patreon
User avatar
qreeves
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1619
Joined: 02 Feb 2014 05:04
Location: Australia

Re: [bug] can not spawn on r6947

Postby radiant » 22 Nov 2014 11:36

It still doesn't work right here: I end up getting spawned with the 1st and 7th loadout choices, not the 1st and 2nd.

[EDIT] tried again and got 2nd and 3rd, then 3rd and 4th, 4th and 7th, like it's not even reading the preference at all.
radiant
 
Posts: 162
Joined: 02 Feb 2014 06:31

Re: [bug] random weapons on r6951

Postby freezurbern » 22 Nov 2014 12:41

On r6951, no stale config files, and an up to date server, i get the behavior of random weapon pairs. for example 1&2, 2&5, etc. It does not listen to my ordering set in the menu at all.

On each and every respawn the weapons are different. The original issue is fixed, however.
freezurbern
 
Posts: 641
Joined: 02 Feb 2014 18:01

Re: [bug] can not spawn on r6947

Postby qreeves » 22 Nov 2014 13:53

So I finally worked out what you were all doing different to me, I only picked two weapons and you all picked all slots and finding a typo bug in the process, that was a bad one. Fixed now.
Quinton Reeves | Lead Developer, Red Eclipse
Check Out My YouTube Channel | Leave Me a Tip on PayPal
Contribute to Project Costs via PayPal or Patreon
User avatar
qreeves
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1619
Joined: 02 Feb 2014 05:04
Location: Australia

Re: [bug] can not spawn on r6947

Postby freezurbern » 22 Nov 2014 14:17

Confirmed, fixed. Yay! I like the new loadout scheme, as now when a server blocks the flamer I can still get into the game right away with my third weapon.
freezurbern
 
Posts: 641
Joined: 02 Feb 2014 18:01

Re: [bug] can not spawn on r6947

Postby qreeves » 23 Nov 2014 04:47

You can also lookup the loadouts of other players now as well - (getclientloadweap <cn> <n>) - though I don't have much of a use for it yet.
Quinton Reeves | Lead Developer, Red Eclipse
Check Out My YouTube Channel | Leave Me a Tip on PayPal
Contribute to Project Costs via PayPal or Patreon
User avatar
qreeves
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1619
Joined: 02 Feb 2014 05:04
Location: Australia

Re: [bug] can not spawn on r6947

Postby unixfreak » 23 Nov 2014 08:23

It works for me too, i can spawn. Although it seems to show the loadout menu everytime you spawn thereafter.

eg;
  1. start a match
  2. enter the game (no loadout menu is shown)
  3. weapons are assigned from profile page
  4. suicide/die
  5. favourite loadout weapon is shown everytime after the first spawn

Renamed config.cfg in case, but same effect.
User avatar
unixfreak
 
Posts: 224
Joined: 02 Feb 2014 18:47
Location: Bristol, UK

Re: [bug] can not spawn on r6947

Postby qreeves » 23 Nov 2014 10:22

Found the problem, fixed.
Quinton Reeves | Lead Developer, Red Eclipse
Check Out My YouTube Channel | Leave Me a Tip on PayPal
Contribute to Project Costs via PayPal or Patreon
User avatar
qreeves
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1619
Joined: 02 Feb 2014 05:04
Location: Australia


Return to Closed Issues

cron