[CFG/TUTORIAL] Easy planet atmosphere preset.

User created maps and modifications, showcase your latest map, model, etc

[CFG/TUTORIAL] Easy planet atmosphere preset.

Postby SniperGoth » 06 Mar 2017 00:53

My first tutorial, so apologies for the errors :P
This is something that i believe would be very useful to mapmakers out there...
By using the texture "data\torley\desat/grittyblack2clear1_z" as a cloud layer and tweaking it around a lot, you can make an "atmosphere" of sorts.
And using something like let's say, "torley/desat/unchartedcontinents"" as an envlayer, you can set it as an "terrain" of the atmosphere.
To tweak the color of the atmosphere in our case, use the MAD commands before the cloudlayer path, example: "<mad:2/1/1>data\torley\desat/grittyblack2clear1_z" will give it more of an red tone.
For the terrain, /envlayer, the same applies as above.

Just download the cfg file and while on a editing match, type /exec atmosphere1.cfg for it to show up.
Attachments
20170305210900.png
20170305210903.png
20170305210916.png
atmosphere1.cfg
(279 Bytes) Downloaded 17 times
Ex Iron fist level designer/ Ex Revelade Revolution level designer, 3d/2d artist, and still trying to figure out sound design...
User avatar
SniperGoth
 
Posts: 471
Joined: 03 Feb 2014 13:08

Re: [CFG/TUTORIAL] Easy planet atmosphere preset.

Postby qreeves » 06 Mar 2017 03:21

Try "cloudlayercolour" and "envlayercolour" (also: "skybgcolour", "skycolour", "cloudcolour"). You could also make the "atmosphere" have some glare with something like "cloudlayerglare".

All sky related variables:
Code: Select all
VAR(IDF_HEX|IDF_WORLD, skybgcolour, 0, 0x000000, 0xFFFFFF);
VAR(IDF_WORLD, skybgglare, 0, 0, 1);

SVARF(IDF_WORLD, skybox, "", { if(skybox[0]) loadsky(skybox, sky); });
FVAR(IDF_WORLD, skyblend, 0, 1.0f, 1);
VAR(IDF_WORLD, skyglare, 0, 0, 1);
VAR(IDF_HEX|IDF_WORLD, skycolour, 0, 0xFFFFFF, 0xFFFFFF);
FVAR(IDF_WORLD, spinsky, -720, 0, 720);
VAR(IDF_WORLD, yawsky, 0, 0, 360);

SVARF(IDF_WORLD, cloudbox, "", { if(cloudbox[0]) loadsky(cloudbox, clouds); });
FVAR(IDF_WORLD, cloudblend, 0, 1.0f, 1);
VAR(IDF_WORLD, cloudglare, 0, 0, 1);
VAR(IDF_HEX|IDF_WORLD, cloudcolour, 0, 0xFFFFFF, 0xFFFFFF);
FVAR(IDF_WORLD, spinclouds, -720, 0, 720);
VAR(IDF_WORLD, yawclouds, 0, 0, 360);

SVARF(IDF_WORLD, cloudlayer, "", { if(cloudlayer[0]) cloudoverlay = loadskyoverlay(cloudlayer); });
FVAR(IDF_WORLD, cloudlayerblend, 0, 1.0f, 1);
VAR(IDF_WORLD, cloudlayerglare, 0, 0, 1);
VAR(IDF_HEX|IDF_WORLD, cloudlayercolour, 0, 0xFFFFFF, 0xFFFFFF);
FVAR(IDF_WORLD, cloudoffsetx, 0, 0, 1);
FVAR(IDF_WORLD, cloudoffsety, 0, 0, 1);
FVAR(IDF_WORLD, cloudscrollx, -16, 0, 16);
FVAR(IDF_WORLD, cloudscrolly, -16, 0, 16);
FVAR(IDF_WORLD, cloudscale, 0, 1, 64);
FVAR(IDF_WORLD, spincloudlayer, -720, 0, 720);
VAR(IDF_WORLD, yawcloudlayer, 0, 0, 360);
FVAR(IDF_WORLD, cloudheight, -1, 0.2f, 1);
FVAR(IDF_WORLD, cloudfade, 0, 0.2f, 1);
VAR(IDF_WORLD, cloudsubdiv, 4, 16, 64);

SVARF(IDF_WORLD, envlayer, "", { if(envlayer[0]) envoverlay = loadskyoverlay(envlayer); });
FVAR(IDF_WORLD, envlayerblend, 0, 1.0f, 1);
VAR(IDF_WORLD, envlayerglare, 0, 0, 1);
VAR(IDF_HEX|IDF_WORLD, envlayercolour, 0, 0xFFFFFF, 0xFFFFFF);
FVAR(IDF_WORLD, envoffsetx, 0, 0, 1);
FVAR(IDF_WORLD, envoffsety, 0, 0, 1);
FVAR(IDF_WORLD, envscrollx, -16, 0, 16);
FVAR(IDF_WORLD, envscrolly, -16, 0, 16);
FVAR(IDF_WORLD, envscale, 0, 1, 64);
FVAR(IDF_WORLD, spinenvlayer, -720, 0, 720);
VAR(IDF_WORLD, yawenvlayer, 0, 0, 360);
FVAR(IDF_WORLD, envheight, -1, 0.2f, 1);
FVAR(IDF_WORLD, envfade, 0, 0.2f, 1);
VAR(IDF_WORLD, envsubdiv, 4, 16, 64);

FVAR(IDF_WORLD, cloudclip, 0, 0.5f, 1);
Quinton Reeves | Lead Developer, Red Eclipse
Check Out My YouTube Channel | Leave Me a Tip on PayPal
Contribute to Project Costs via PayPal or Patreon
User avatar
qreeves
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1616
Joined: 02 Feb 2014 05:04
Location: Australia

Re: [CFG/TUTORIAL] Easy planet atmosphere preset.

Postby SniperGoth » 06 Mar 2017 13:41

I know about all of those sky variables, @qreeves, as i've been editing on RE since 2012 ~~
But in this specific case, just using cloudlayercolor doesnt give the desired results, that's why im using MAD and said for people to use it as well, as it multiplies and adds the color x2, x3, x4, x8 etc .
Gives a better result overall, but in the screenshots its using the default values :P
Ex Iron fist level designer/ Ex Revelade Revolution level designer, 3d/2d artist, and still trying to figure out sound design...
User avatar
SniperGoth
 
Posts: 471
Joined: 03 Feb 2014 13:08


Return to Maps and Mods